Chateau Bellevue (Austin Woman’s Club)

Built in 1874, Chateau Bellevue is romantic and elegant, with French Romanesque arches, beautiful courtyard grounds, a spacious ballroom, ornate hand carved woodwork and stunning stained glass windows. Chateau Bellevue is a unique venue for all special occasions, including weddings, corporate meetings and special parties!

Chateau Bellevue has been the headquarters of the Austin Woman’s Club since 1929 and the Junior Austin Woman’s Club since 1940.

The mansion was built by Harvey and Catherine North in 1874. The Norths were newcomers to Austin when construction began. It didn’t take long for Austin society to realize that the Norths were wealthy and cosmopolitan.

Before coming to Austin, Harvey North was a merchant in New Orleans. He took his family on long visits to Europe, giving credence to the idea that Bellevue’s castle imagery evoked European castles.

By 1876, North’s fortunes in Austin real estate began to falter. Just two years after building “Bellevue Place”, it was up for sale. Catherine North finally sold the mansion to Augusta Gaines and William Pendleton in 1881. The mansion sold for only half the amount it cost the Norths to build.

In 1892, Major Ira Evans bought Bellevue Place and turned the home into a castle, with the help of noted Texas architect, Alfred Giles. Starting with North’s wooden porch (replaced with limestone in the 1920s) Giles extended the home toward the west with a series of graceful rusticated limestone arches. He fortified the rooftops with crenelations and added a side entrance of exquisitely carved limestone.

Come tour this beautiful and unique building that is steeped in history and holds a special place in Austin’s  heritage.

Texas State Cemetery

The Texas State Cemetery is located approximately one mile east of the Capitol and consists of 18 acres. The Cemetery provides a final resting place for individuals who have made a significant contribution to Texas. Both state and federal Texas politicians are buried at the Cemetery in addition to other notable individuals such as author James A. Michener, Artist Tom Lea, Folklorist James Frank Dobie and American Sniper Chris Kyle.

Visitors can tour the grounds on their own through an audio tour provided at the office (open Monday-Friday).

For a guided tour, groups must have more than 10 people. A reservation is required. To book reservations, email Cemetery.Tours@tspb.texas.gov or call 512.305.8524. Group tours are free and approximately 45-60 minutes long.

Parking is available for all visitors on Navasota Street between 7th and 11th Streets at the office.

Historic Millett Opera House

The Historic Millett Opera House was built in 1878 on what was once Ash Street by Captain Charles Millett & his friend, Frederick Ernst Ruffini. Captain Millett was a Fire Chief, business owner, City of Austin elected official, and special committee member.

After much negotiating with various performing artists, the first of the proposed performances to be offered Grand Opening Week October 23rd,1878 was announced.   Coquette, “……an American play of classical merit native in diction and incidents…”  was to be performed in a benefit for the Austin Library Association using all amateur actors who were well known Austin residents.

Millett’s Opera House was used to host the state Democratic Convention, graduations, a roller rink, and of course its first and main purpose was as a stage.

Texas Wendish Heritage Museum

The Texas Wendish Heritage Museum preserves the history of the Texas Wends, Slavic immigrants from Lusatia, an area in eastern Germany.

The museum is located at Serbin, near the historic St. Paul Lutheran Church.  The present church building, built in 1871, is one of the famous painted churches of South Central Texas.

As the only Wendish museum outside of Germany, the Texas Wendish Heritage Museum includes interpretive displays about the history of the Wends.  Exhibits include relics from the old country, from early life in Texas, traditional folk dress of Lusatia, traditional black wedding dresses, and the beautiful decorated Wendish Easter eggs.

Two mid-1800s log structures are also part of the museum complex.  The 1856 Kurio log cabin, built by the Kurio family, is furnished as a bedroom with original artifacts of the early settlers.  The Mertink log room is used to exhibit antique tools used for farming and carpentry.

The Lillie Moerbe Caldwell Library, housed in the interpretive center, specializes in the history and genealogy of the Wendish people.  The museum archives include rare books in Wendish and German, manuscripts, personal papers, and a photograph collection.

Group tours may be scheduled with a traditional Wendish meal.

Texas Wendish Heritage Museum

Kurio log cabin

St. Paul Building

Kasper family trunk

Welcome!

Wendish Easter eggs

Bullock Texas State History Museum

Update: September 12, 2020. We’re so happy to welcome you back to the Bullock Museum’s exhibitions and IMAX® Theatre! The Museum galleries, IMAX® Theatre, and Museum Store are now open. Using the guidelines recommended by national, state and local authorities, we have carefully implemented new safety procedures to help limit the spread of COVID-19. 

Please note: The Bullock Museum’s hours have changed. Exhibitions are now open Wednesday through Sunday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. The IMAX® Theatre is open for documentaries during exhibition hours and for IMAX® feature film showtimes Wednesday through Sunday.

With three floors of expansive exhibition space showcasing more than 700 original artifacts, discover an ever-changing experience in the Texas History Galleries. New artifacts are continually added, bringing new stories to the museum each month.

Now on view, the shipwreck La Belle is the central artifact in the new Becoming Texas exhibit that introduces new scholarship on early Texas history and anchors the museum’s permanent galleries. Additional galleries introduce you to artifacts and documents that reveal the history of Texas as a part of Mexico, as an independent nation, and as an American state. These experiences offer opportunities to discuss identity, conflict, innovation, technology, the arts, and much more.

New in 2020:

Sister Suffragists – Sister Suffragists is a celebration of the movement that brought suffrage to the women of Texas and the nation.

This Light of Ours: Activist Photographs of the Civil Rights Movement – This exhibit tells a visual story of the struggle against segregation, race-based disenfranchisement, and Jim Crow laws in the 1960s. This Light of Ours captures the day-to-day struggles of everyday citizens working toward equality and their resolve in the face of violence and institutionalized discrimination.

Discover history, science, and culture through film in the museum’s two theaters, which support the museum’s exhibitions and educational programming through ticket sales. The Bullock Museum provides the only IMAX® with Laser film experience in the state on the biggest screen in Texas. The Texas Spirit Theater is home to film programs that explore the richness and diversity of Texas cinema, as well as the national and international art of filmmaking.

Nearly eight million visitors from around the state and all over the world have explored Texas history and culture at the Bullock Texas State History Museum since it opened in 2001.

Adults and children can explore the Story of Texas together. From fun family programs to one-of-a-kind artifacts, the Bullock Museum is the best place to experience Texas. Check out the Calendar of Events.

Flower Hill Urban Homestead Museum

The Flower Hill Foundation exists to honor the late Jane Smoot’s vision to celebrate an Austin founding family of civil servants; preserve one of the city’s last historic homesteads; and empower, inspire, and engage the diverse Austin community of today and tomorrow.

The Flower Hill homestead and its 1.38 acres of historic landscape enjoy great local, state, and national significance architecturally, historically, and culturally. Its law library belonged to Lawrence Kelley Smoot, a Texas Supreme Court librarian and reporter, and the longest serving civil servant in Texas history. The theological library belonged to Rev. Dr. R.K. Smoot, the family patriarch, and founder of the Austin School of Theology, now the Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary, whom also conducted short-story writer, O. Henry’s wedding in Flower Hill’s parlor.

Continuously occupied by a single middle-class family from 1877-2013, Flower Hill possesses rare comprehensive documentation of three generations’ worth of American life, records including diaries, letters, oral history recordings and video tours maintained by the late Miss Jane Smoot, a celebrated teacher, world-traveler, and the last family member to live at the homestead. Architecturally, the home and 6 original outbuildings narrate another history, as its original plans were drawn from a survey of Southern vernacular styles, and were later modified over the centuries to the evolving trends and principles of American structure and design.

 

Asian American Resource Center

The mission of the Asian American Resource Center (AARC) is to provide spaces, services, resources, and programs through an Asian American Pacific Islander perspective. The vision is to empower Austin’s diverse communities through cultural understanding and life-enhancing opportunities. The AARC features rotating art and history exhibits on a quarterly basis as well as permanent art including “Lotus” sculpture and mosaic.

Come in and try something new with our year-round cultural and educational programming including free art and music workshops, film screenings, culinary classes, and more!

For more information, please visit our Current Exhibits, Event Calendar and School and Group Tours page.

Austin Museum of Popular Culture

The Austin Museum of Popular Culture (AusPop) collects, conserves, and exhibits vintage posters and live music ephemera from the 1960s through today to educate future generations on the rich and unique culture that makes Austin the Live Music Capital of the World.

Formerly known as the South Austin Museum of Popular Culture, AusPop seeks to enrich a growing and changing community by becoming the premier resource in Texas for art and artifacts of local music history from the 1960s through today, and its impact on local, national, and international culture.

Exploring Austin’s alternate route to peace, love, and happiness since 2004.

Museum Day 2020:

AusPop is currently hosting an exhibition celebrating the 50th Anniversary of the Armadillo World Headquarters!

Located in an old armory at 525 ½ Barton Springs Road, The Dillo was a big old building with no air conditioning or amenities but it held much promise for the group of dedicated founders.  They learned about running a venue as they went along and mainly did learn from mistakes made.  Fortunately for the city, state and nation the staff never stopped taking chances on the bands booked to perform…they consciously booked acts that were wonderful but weren’t going to sell a lot of tickets.

Many landmark events followed over the years, along with accompanying financial troubles but the club did persevere; survived a Chapter 11 bankruptcy and ended the 10-year run making a profit.  Nothing lasts forever but the impact of this club on Austin and its culture has continued to this day.

Please join us on Austin Museum Day this year! AusPop will be open at our new location on North Lamar Blvd. We ask that you reserve a time to visit either online via our eventbrite page, call us to make a reservation at 512-2698-7303, or email us at info@southpop.org. We are open Saturdays and Sundays from 1-6pm through the middle of December, including Austin Museum Day. Advanced reservations are required as we will be maintaining a total attendance of 10 people (including staff) at any given time. All staff and visitors are required to wear a facemask, and we will be sanitizing all surfaces between visits.

Please check out our Exhibition Website for more details, a selection of images from the exhibition, and videos with Armadillo performers, staff, and more!

Brush Square Museums

Brush Square is home to the Joseph and Susanna Dickinson Hannig Museum, O. Henry Museum, and Austin Fire Museum, all located on the corner of 5th and Neches.

Joseph and Susanna Dickinson Hannig Museum: The mission of the Joseph and Susanna Dickinson Hannig Museum is to preserve the home and legacy of Battle of the Alamo survivor Susanna Dickinson and to celebrate Texas’ historical heritage by providing programs and educational resources to the citizens of Austin and its visitors.

Open Wednesday – Sunday, noon to 5 p.m.

411 E. 5th Street
Austin, TX 78701

http://www.susannadickinsonmuseum.org

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/susannadickinsonmuseum/

O. Henry Museum: The O. Henry Museum offers a look into the life of William Sidney Porter in the Austin years leading up to his controversial prison term, after which he assumed the pen name O. Henry and set about transforming himself into the famed short story writer who authored such universal classics as “Gifts of the Magi,” “The Ransom of Red Chief” and “The Cop and the Anthem.”

Open Wednesday – Sunday, noon to 5 p.m.

409 E. 5th Street
Austin, TX 78701

http://www.ohenrymuseum.org

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ohenrymuseum/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ohenrymuseum

Austin Fire Museum: The Austin Fire Museum is located in Austin’s Central Fire Station No. 1 at 401 East 5th Street in the heart of downtown Austin, Texas. The firehouse is Austin’s busiest station, which includes Quint 1, Engine 1, Engine 13, Austin EMS Medic 6, and the AFD Shift Commander. The station was built in 1938 and is a piece of history in and of itself.

401 E. 5th Street
Austin, TX 78701

 

Pioneer Farms

At Pioneer Farms, you’ll find five themed, restored historic areas to explore: an 1841 Tonkawa Encampment, an 1868 German Emigrant Farm, an 1873 Texian Farm, an 1887 Cotton Planter’s Farm and an 1899 Sprinkle Corner rural village. In each area you can see and smell Texas history first-hand. An historic blacksmith shop and a carpentry shop staffed by working artisans demonstrate trades on the Lone Star frontier. Explore more than 90 beautiful, wooded acres and discover exciting, memorable ways to experience Texas’ past with your family. Don’t miss the Scarborough Barn where you can get up close with your favorite farm animal friends!