October 1, 2011
Haunted History Mystery
For the first time ever, the French Legation Museum invites visitors to explore the lesser known side of the Museum’s history. On October 31, 2011, under the guidance of paranormal researchers Robyn Ramsey, Melissa Burk and Darla Andrews, guests will learn how to use ghost hunting instruments, conduct experiments and search for paranormal presence in Austin’s oldest home.
The French Legation Museum’s paranormal history has long been of interest to paranormal investigators, television producers, and neighbors alike. The quiet, rumored stories of ghosts at the Legation have brought visitors from near and far but until now, the stories haven’t been openly shared with the public. But timing is everything. With the 170 year old home about to undergo preservation work, the Museum collection will be moved off site during construction, leaving the house completely empty for the first time in almost 60 years. With construction scheduled to begin in November, the house will be empty of all its earthly objects this Halloween.
On October 31, 2011, from 3pm to 2am, in groups of ten, visitors will have the opportunity to spend one hour with three paranormal researchers in the empty historic house. Guests will have the opportunity to record their experience in the Museum’s Ghost Log, becoming a part of the Museum’s ongoing history. Tickets for the hour long sessions range from $15 to $35 and can be purchased in advance online at the French Legation Museum’s Online Store, or by calling 512.472.8180.
The FRENCH LEGATION MUSEUM is a non-profit historic house museum. The structure was built to serve as the diplomatic outpost for King Louis-Philippe of France to the Republic of Texas in 1841. For more information about this event and the historic site, visit www.FrenchLegationMuseum.org.